Mastering that perfect cup of Sulaimani!

What does it take to create that perfect cup of Sulaimani? If you ask me, it takes practice. I still have to get the measurements spot on to get closer to the desired end result, while an experienced person like my mom could make one blindfolded! And that is usually the reason why my husband calls her first when he needs a cup.

IMG_20170311_172708461Sulaimani is very common among us north Keralites. It is a must after Biriyani! I was so amused once when my 2.5 year old asked for it after her biriyani, that I prepared a cup for her, smiling all the while. She loves it just like her dada.

So here is how i prepare my Cuppa.

Ingredients:-

Tetley tea bag – 1 no
1.5 glass water
2 tsps Sugar
Green Cardamom powder – a pinch
Juice of lime – 1 tbsp

Method:-

  • Boil water in a saucepan. Add the tea bag and let it brew. Don’t make it strong. This is the toughest part really. You need to let it brew for the right time. Separate tea bag from the saucepan as soon as you’ve brewed it.
  • Pour the tea into a cup. Add sugar and green cardamom powder and stir till its dissolved.
  • Finally add the juice of lime and give it a stir.
  • Have that perfect Cuppa!

Tried and tested by my Babies! 😉

Leave a Reply

